Slow Fashion October: Loved

I am very lucky that before I could knit and crochet, I was gifted hand knitted sweaters by my mother. My mum is a very talented knitter with many years experience. If I was to tell you just how many years experience she would disown me.. haha Just watching her knit for me is incredibly relaxing and at the same time fascinating. She was taught to knit by her Gran as a child and hasn’t stopped since!

She is an English knitter and I knit continental. I am the rebel of the family because of my ability to crochet and continental knitting.

During the last 5 years I have been gifted many cable cardigans and sweaters and I cherish them. I am fascinated by the cables and sheer perfection of every stitch. my sweaters continue to have little imperfections or modifications that make them mine. But the sweaters I have been gifted are immaculate, and I am determined to keep them that way. I have developed little rituals along the way. At the end of every winter I put away my heavier pieces of knitwear, washing and re-blocking them all and putting them away in a safe place away from the moths.. but of course living in Yorkshire means that not all of my knitwear gets put away but we all have our favourites.

wpid-20150228_140521.jpg

One of my favourites that I have made is my moss stitch cowl in Frank Ochre by Malabrigo. The yarn was bought as a Christmas present by my brother from Loop in London. This cowl started because I saw a cowl in topshop on sight I wanted it… but it literally came apart in my hands… which had me thinking about my wardrobe and buying habits. Because of one afternoon I buy a lot less.. but what I buy or thrift is quality but it has to fit my style and I have to love it. If not, I walk away from it. I don’t need it. We all carefully select our patterns, choose the right yarn, fibre and colour then why not our clothes..? There isn’t a day goes by when I don’t wear something I haven’t made myself..

 wpid-item_12131.jpg

This cowl is also my most commented item. Many people have come up to me shopping and asked me where did I buy it? or have said that they love the colour. Even with the imperfections.. We’ve all gone slightly skewiff on our moss stitch.. but it brings a smile to fave every time I wear it and that’s why I knit.

Leave a Reply

