Love your blog challenge 1 #getyouryarnwishesgranted

The First challenge from Kate over at A Playful day is ‘Interactions and Community’

I am an avid user of Instagram, Twitter and Tumblr but over Christmas something amazing happened  over on Instagram. Crafting Supremo Taiga Hilliard started the hashtag #getyouryarnwishesgranted. 

image

what started as a single photo snowballed into a 80 posts and its still growing! I loved taking part in granting peoples wishes. Bringing an entire community of crafters together, talking swapping and spreading the love of our crafts with some incredible generosity.

The lovely lady herself agreed to answer my question about #getyouryarnwishesgranted.

Me:I really wanted to get your thoughts behind the #getyouryarnwishesgranted this past holiday season. It really bought a lot of happiness to us all and it still is.What was it that make our put it out there to everyone and what did you think about it when you saw the response?

Taiga:This is exciting!
‘It was snowy and cold and everyone was on vacation or had days off and I was just sitting at home knitting and trying to stay warm.
I had been trying to buy this special sock yarn for months and it was sold out everywhere, so I was rooting through my stash to find something I wanted to knit with and got to thinking, I have a lot of lovely yarn that I am not planning on knitting any time soon and I bet someone has the yarn I want just sitting unused in there stash.
I thought it might be fun to throw it out there and see if I could find homes for some of my yarn and make some people who really wanted something, but either could not afford it or like me could not get there hands on it, happy.
It was really fun to watch #getyouryarnwishesgranted snowball over just a few hours. I got to grant a ton of wishes, clear some of my stash and one very special person had the very yarn I had been trying to get a hold of’
image

I loved taking part in the hashtag and met some amazing people through it and have decided to continue on sending parcels to each other at intervals. I granted a few wishes myself and received some wonderful yarns in return. what better way than to spread the love over Christmas. Its true that crafters are the most amazing generous people, Instagram really brought the community of bloggers, knitters, crocheters and spinners together. making us all feel incredibly close. parcels wingered their way across the world to and from the USA, Ireland, Russia, UK, Germany, Finland, France, Latvia, Spain.. the list is endless.
image

image
image

image
Ad you can see I was incredibly fortunate to receive such generous gifts and meet some wonderful ladies along the way.

The perfect way to bring a community together. Did you take part if so what did you think and what did you wish for, was it granted?

4 thoughts on “Love your blog challenge 1 #getyouryarnwishesgranted

  1. That sounds like a lot of fun. I took part in the Love Letter Swap with A Playful Day recently, and it reminded me how lovely it is to get “real post”!

    1. I know! I love real post. letters and parcels are such personal things to send to someone that you don’t know. because whatever you send to someone, you have had to put the time and effort in to go to the post office and send it. that and seeing lots of different postmarks. I loved every moment of it.

    1. The generosity of everyone was amazing! Truly amazing. The most beautiful yarns was being offered and wished for!. I love the project so much and wanted to share it with everyone.

Leave a Reply

