Romney kerchief

Finally I have something to show you guys! My Romney kerchief from Brooklyn Tweed!!

image

I have knitted my Romney in Rowan’s Pure wool worsted in charteuse.  Rowans latest release this season, available in 50 colours. I feel in love with this colour at Black Sheep wools in Culcheth. I knew immediately that was the colour for my Romney. Although slightly scratchy in the ball. This yarns knits a treat and moves smoothly through my fingers. This project grew quickly (great for a part time knitter like me)

image

Jared’s pattern calls for 245 yards of light worsted yarn and 5.5mm needles however my knitting is loose so I used 5mm needles and knitted to get the gauge. I had leftovers from one ball… one ball!!

This project taught me a lot that patterns can be adapted and undoing the mistakes I made Isn’t the end of the world! My triangle was a half moon after my first two days of knitting..  but I realised my mistake and re read the pattern cut my loses and started again. No biggie. But I am so glad I did! I have a great shawl now.

Such a great project for anyone looking for a simple shawl or an entry pattern into the addictive world of Brooklyn Tweed.

What would I do differently? A straight spine for my shawl and try it again in a tweed yarn. This my first ever shawl and definately not my last!  To my UK readers enjoy the upcoming bank holiday weekend. I look forward to hearing from you.

2 thoughts on “Romney kerchief

Leave a Reply

