The crafty connection to.. Cycling?

, Entering this competition got me thinking.. about the Crafty connection. I love the freedom that Cycling gave me when I lived abroad in Germany. I have found that knitting/crochet has given me the same freedom mentally. But I do miss the freedom that Cycling gave me physically. I have given up cycling since I have been back in the UK full time, for the simple reason that the roads are not safe enough. And to be honest, I don’t want to be target practise either for any of the large lorries that move goods around my local area. But I do miss cycling. The latest bout of gorgeous weather has made me miss it even more.

This article http://theknitter.themakingspot.com/blog/knitters-who-cycle-and-cyclists-who-knit got me thinking.. is there some untold connection of crafting and cycling? I was inspired to write this post by one of my favourite designers Ysolda Teague. I have been a long time fan of Ysolda’s, isn’t her work just wonderful. But I’m not sure.. but I am interested in finding out more.

How do you get around? What is your mode of transport? I recently spent lots of time on trains, so I always have a small project with me for crocheting/ knitting in public. Do you knit/ crochet in public? I have had some good and bad experiences with crafting in public so I would love to hear your stories/experiences.

In other news..I have finished my first knitting project. A bright cobalt blue beanie. Photos coming soon. Have a good weekend!

2 thoughts on “The crafty connection to.. Cycling?

  1. I run mostly but I do occasionally cycle. I live in a town with easy access to the countryside so I count myself really lucky.
    As far as knitting in public, I do an awful lot of public knitting as I don’t drive so I’m reliant on public transport. I haven’t had anything but positive comments made though. Congratulations on finishing your first knitting project too!

  2. Oh how interesting! Perhaps you’re right. I’m just back in Britain after living in Germany (Berlin!) and cycling everywhere I could. Already I find myself cycling less and its a shame. Last weekend I took ‘Fifi’ (my bike) pretty much everywhere, but during the week i’ve held back for fear of arriving at work first thing in the morning drenched in sweat, with my cute work outfits all dishevelled. None of these concerns seemed to bother me in Berlin…hmmm.

Leave a Reply

